Posted by: ChchCAN | December 2, 2008

Just one reason why you should read…

This quote comes from the late, great Bill Hicks.  Look him up on Wikipedia, Youtube etc.

“I was in Nashville, Tennesee last year. After the show I went to a Waffle House. I’m not proud of it, I was hungry. And I’m alone, I’m eating and I’m reading a book, right? Waitress walks over to me: “<smack smack smack smack> Hey, whatchoo readin’ for?”

Isn’t that the weirdest f$%king question you’ve ever heard? Not what am I readING, but what am I reading *for*? Well, godammit, ya stumped me! Why do I read? Well… hmmm… I dunno… I guess I read for a lot of reasons, and the main one is so I don’t end up being a f$%king waffle waitress.”

Hmmm… and came across this video of one young man venting his anger on attitudes to reading.  A rant maybe, but entertaining and intelligent nonetheless.  Viewer discretion is advised.  (He does the Hicks skit right at the end, not as good as Bill though)

Comment and tell me 5 reasons why you read and maybe I can organise a prize for you…


Responses

  1. 1. I read because I can.
    2. I read to have adventures and new experiences.
    3. I read to relax.
    4. I read to find out interesting stuff.
    5. I read to share interesting stuff with my students.

  2. I’ll give you your prize in the new year Mrs Gibson!


Leave a comment

Categories