Posted by: ChchCAN | December 10, 2008

New York Times discuss the wonder of algae

Most of you guys are aware of the big environmental problems we are facing this century.  If not, read up on climate change and peak oil.

Lots of new technologies are being developed to avert future disaster (and that is what I fear we face if we don’t deal with these issues quickly and boldly).  One of these is the use of algae as a renewable, low-carbon fuel.

These seem to have got a lot more press over the past 12 months and consequently have made me more optimistic about getting through these issues without mass social (rioting, famine, poverty) or environmental (storms, flooding, drought etc.) disaster.  That is not to say we’re anywhere near there.  There is much more that government, industries and people like you and me need to be doing.

What can government, industries and individuals do to make a difference towards climate change or to prepare for peak oil?  Name one thing for each and I’ll sort you out a prize.

This will be the first of many posts on the environment.  You can find these all grouped together under the environment category.


Responses

  1. Cool! I didn’t know about algae as a biofuel.

    Governments: Promote good practices and practice them. Make laws to reduce pollution.

    Industries: Reduce pollution

    Individuals: Reduce packaging use and recycle

  2. Well done Andre, hunt me down in the new year (I better sort some prizes!).

    Bonus prize if you can tell me the two likely situations where an industry would reduce pollution.

  3. 1. When they are forced to (law, angry customers, etc)

    2. When it would benefit them enough to make them change (publice relations, increase in profit)

    Is that pretty much what you meant?

    • Yup, exactly what I meant Andre. Oh yeah, there is a group in Blenheim I think that are working on the algae idea too. I can’t remember any details about them but you may be able to track down some information.

  4. Ok.
    I found the Aquaflow Bionomic Corporation http://www.aquaflowgroup.com/

    And there’s a news article here http://www.scoop.co.nz/stories/SC0605/S00030.htm

  5. They think that they were the first to successfully turn “wild” algae into fuel, in mid 2005.


Leave a comment

Categories